About District

The North Tripura District started functioning after recognition of the district as on 26-12-2011. The newly created district was officially inaugurated on 13-01-2012. The geographical area of the district is 1422.19 sq K.M. North Tripura District is mostly hilly and shares boundary with Assam 53 K.M and Mizoram 109 K.M and international boundary with Bangladesh 96 K.M of which Dharmanagar Sub-Division shares -44 K.M and Kanchanpur- 52 K.M.

The Geographical location of North Tripura district is Latitude – 24° 19´North & Longitude- 92° 01´ East.

This District is administratively set up with three Sub-Divisions: Dharmanagar, Panisagar, Kanchanpur and eight Rural Development Blocks in the district. There are four Revenue Circle and 89 nos. of Revenue Mouja, 27 nos. of Tehsil Kachari office under District Administration. The District consists of ten Police Stations. The total nos. of Gram Panchayat/ADC villages are 129 nos. in the district.

North Tripura District is having the population of 444579 as per Census-2011 which includes 225031 males and 219548 females. The density of population is 394 per Sq KM. As per Draft Electoral Rolls, Male Electors is 141449, Female 135497 and total 276946. The Gender ratio is 967 female out of 1000 male and EP ratio of the District is 569. The average literacy percentage of this district is 94.73%.

The North Tripura District is mostly hilly topographically with the boundary with Assam and Mizoram in the North East and bounded by Unokoti District in the West and the international border with Bangladesh in the North West part and the Southern peak of the district. The important rivers like Longai, Juri, Kakari are flowing through this district. It is rich in natural vegetation.

The North Tripura District is the corridor and lifeline of the state. It is connected with railway line and National Highway NH-44 entries the District at Churaibari which is on the border with Assam.

The important tourist attraction spot in the District are Like Jampui Hill, Rowa Wild Life sanctuary and tea gardens of Dharmanagar.

The newly created district is re-structured with seven Assembly Segments under 2-East Tripura Parliamentary (ST) Constituency and two District Council constituencies under TTAADC.