Tripura a hilly, picturesque, princely state was first conquered by the Britishers in 1761. However, no political agent was appointed till 1871 and the Maharaja ruled hill territory ” Hill Tipperah ” almost independently. The State acceded to the Indian union on 13.08.1947, the agreement of merger being signed on 09.09.1949. The administration was formally taken over by 15.10.1949. Tripura, initially a one district state, was trifurcated into three Districts w.e.f. 01.09.1970. The North Tripura District started functioning in the office of the Sub-divisional officer at Kailashahar and partly at Kumarghat, later the whole office was shifted to Kailashahar. The Collectorate was shifted to the newly constructed complex at Gournagar on 13.11.1987, subsequently, North Tripura District has been bifurcated and a new District namely “DHALAI DISTRICT ” has been inaugurated on 14.04.1995 with district headquarter at Ambassa. North Tripura District has been further bifurcated in the year 2012; and “UNAKOTI DISTRICT” has been created with its headquarter at Kailashahar & North Tripura district headquarter shifted to Dharmanagar.

The North Tripura District started functioning after recognition of the district as on 26-12-2011. The newly created district was officially inaugurated on 13-01-2012. The geographical area of the district is 1422.19 sq K.M. North Tripura District is mostly hilly and shares boundary with Assam 53 K.M and Mizoram 109 K.M and international boundary with Bangladesh 96 K.M of which Dharmanagar Sub-Division shares -44 K.M and Kanchanpur- 52 K.M.

The Geographical location of North Tripura district is Latitude – 24° 19´North&Longitude- 92° 01´ East.

This District is administratively set up with three Sub-Divisions: Dharmanagar, Panisagar, Kanchanpur and eight Rural Development Blocks in the district. There are four Revenue Circle and 89 nos. of Revenue Mouja, 27 nos. of Tehsil Kachari office under District Administration. The District consists of ten Police Stations. The total nos. of Gram Panchayat/ADC villages are 129 nos. in the district.

North Tripura District is having the population of 444579 as per Census-2011 which includes 225031 males and 219548 females. The density of population is 394 per Sq KM. As per Draft Electoral Rolls, Male Electors is 141449, Female 135497 and total 276946. The Gender ratio is 967 female out of 1000 male and EP ratio of the District is 569. The average literacy percentage of this district is 94.73%.

The North Tripura District is mostly hilly topographically with the boundary with Assam and Mizoram in the North East and bounded by Unokoti District in the West and the international border with Bangladesh in the North West part and the Southern peak of the district. The important rivers like Longai, Juri, Kakari are flowing through this district. It is rich in natural vegetation.

The North Tripura District is the corridor and lifeline of the state. It is connected with railway line and National Highway NH-44 entries the District at Churaibari which is on the border with Assam.

The important tourist attraction spot in the District are Like Jampui Hill, Rowa Wild Life sanctuary and tea gardens of Dharmanagar.